Kimberly Dougherty

Janet, Jenner & Suggs

Kimberly Dougherty is partner and the managing attorney of Andrus Wagstaff’s Boston office. She passionately litigates cases nationwide involving catastrophic injuries, primarily pharmaceutical and medical device mass tort litigation, wrongful death and medical malpractice. In 2013, Kim was appointed to the seven-person plaintiffs’ steering committee for the New England Compounding Center MDL related to the fungal meningitis outbreak. While on the PSC, she participated in obtaining a settlement of over $200 million on behalf of the victims. She serves in leadership roles in Transvaginal Mesh mass tort cases pending against Boston Scientific and Tyco/Covidien in Massachusetts. Her work on the Transvaginal Mesh litigation has resulted in multiple millions of dollars in settlements for her clients. 

In 2016, Kim was appointed to the Executive Committee for the Essure coordinated litigation in California that now houses nearly 15,000 cases on behalf of women against Bayer. As a natural progression from her work on Transvaginal Mesh, Kim serves in several leadership positions in multiple hernia mesh litigations, including those against Covidien/Medtronic, Atrium and Bard. Kim’s work testifying in Massachusetts on behalf of women’s rights has recently lead her to take on sexual assault cases and to become an advocate for women in the #metoo movement. Kim regularly lectures across the nation on mass tort litigation and gender equity issues and has been published nationally in Trial magazine in 2010 and 2014. Kim has been honored for several years with a membership in The National Trial Lawyer’s “Top 40 Under 40,” “Top 25 Trial Lawyers” and “Top 100 Trial Lawyers.” She was also awarded “Top Women of Law” and 2014 “Lawyer of the Year” from Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly. Kim has been repeatedly honored as a Super Lawyer. Kim is the Immediate Past President of the Massachusetts Women’s Bar Association, on the Board of Massachusetts Academy of Trial Lawyers, and an Essure Litigation Group Co-chair for the American Association for Justice.

Comments are closed